General Synod members

Elected to the House of Laity

Mr David Ashton MBE

Mr Alexander Berry

Canon Mrs Jane Evans

Canon Professor Joyce Hill

Mr Stephen Hogg

Dr Richard Mantle OBE

Mrs Catherine Stephenson

Dr Diana Tremayne

Elected to Proctors in Convocation

The Venerable Paul Ayers

The Revd Canon John Bavington

The Revd Canon Paul Cartwright

The Revd Canon Rachel Firth

The Revd Angela Hannafin

The Revd Canon Joyce Jones

The Revd Ruth Newton

The Revd Che Seabourne

The Revd Gary Waddington


The current General Synod's five year term began in November 2021.

The Diocese of Leeds has been allocated 9 Proctors in Convocation and 8 House of Laity places.

For general information about the General Synod elections please follow the link to the General Synod's elections page here or for the Diocese of Leeds' General Synod elections information contact

Further information about General Synod is available on the General Synod website.

Powered by Church Edit