Welcome to the Ripon Episcopal Area section. This is where we pull together all the content on the site - such as contact details and vacancies - that are to do with Ripon.  

Click on the menu headings to the left to browse pages. If you have any relevant news stories please contact

Who's Who in Ripon

Rt Revd Anna Eltringham
Bishop of Ripon

Archdeacon Jonathan Gough
Archdeacon of Richmond and Craven

Revd Tony Collins
Area Dean, Ripon Deanery

Revd Martin Fletcher
Area Dean, Richmond Deanery

Revd Ian Greenhalgh
Area Dean, Ewecross & Bowland Deanery

Revd Dr Alan Garrow
Area Dean, Harrogate Deanery

Revd Canon James Theodosius
Area Dean, Skipton Deanery

Revd Canon Penny Yeadon
Area Dean, Wensley

Chloe Drummond
PA to Archdeacon of Richmond and Craven

Judith Richardson
PA to Bishop of Ripon

Bob Mathews
Area Warden of Readers (LLMs)

Michelle Dearlove
Assistant Area Warden of Readers (LLMs)

Ripon Area Map

Click on the image to download your own copy, or browse the other maps of the new diocese here.

Ripon Area map

















Archdeacon's Visitation
  • Thursday, June 13 – Wensley Deanery - held at St Matthew’s, Leyburn
  • Tuesday, June 25 – Skipton Deanery - held at Holy Trinity, Skipton
  • Tuesday, July 2 – Bowland and Ewecross Deanery – held at Holy Ascension, Settle
  • Tuesday, July 16 – Ripon Deanery – held at St Cuthbert’s, Pateley Bridge
  • Thursday, July 25 – Richmond Deanery – held at St Mary’s, Richmond

The services will all commence at 7.00 p.m.

At the Visitations the Archdeacon will deliver a charge to the clergy and churchwardens.

Churchwardens for the coming year will make their declarations at the Visitation Court prior to being admitted into office.

Those prevented from attending by illness or other cause should notify the Registrar in writing.

Whilst Readers, members of Parochial Church Councils and parish and diocesan officers are not cited to attend, they are warmly invited by the Archdeacons to do so.

Powered by Church Edit